Maine Car Accident Law, Lawyers and Attorneys
Unfortunately, car accidents happen every day and in every state in the U.S., and Maine is certainly no exception. If you’ve been in a car accident and are looking for help, you’ve come to the right place. Of course, if the accident just occurred, or if you or someone else involved is injured, the first thing you should do is call 911 immediately. The information available here on FreeAdvice.com deals with assessing your rights and responsibilities after the accident, as well as assisting you with where to find help after the accident. But this information should be consulted only after you’ve taken care of your immediate health needs. You’ll see that our car accident articles cover issues ranging from claims and fault data, to liability issues and the context behind structured settlements. You will also find rules, laws and other information specific to the state of Maine, as well as links to Maine personal injury attorneys who can evaluate the strength of your claim and offer advice on the best course of action for you.
Maine Car Accident Articles:
How an Auto Accident Insurance Claim Works
What is Your Car Accident Injury Claim Worth?
Who is at Fault?
Car Insurance and Auto Accidents: Are You Covered?
What You Can Expect to Recover for Property Damage in Auto Accident Cases
Auto Accidents: Options if You’re at an Impasse with the Insurance Adjuster
Car Accidents Involving Government-Owned Vehicles and Government Workers
Do I Need to Contact an Attorney After a Car Accident?
Maine Car Accident Lawyers:
Find an experienced Maine Car Accident Attorney at AttorneyPages.com
Special Rules for Maine Car Accidents:
Maine Fault: Proportional Comparative Fault at 50%
Maine Car Insurance Requirements/Limits: Bodily Injury, Property Damage, and Medical Payments Liability. The minimum level required by law is:
$50,000 per person for bodily injury AND $50,000 for uninsured motorist coverage per person for bodily injury
$100,000 per accident for bodily injury AND $100,000 for uninsured motorist coverage per accident for bodily injury
$25,000 per accident for property
$1,000 for medical payments
Maine has one of the highest car insurance limit requirements in the country, and is the only state to require specific medical payments coverage. The medical payments portion is meant to ensure at least some coverage for medical and/or funeral costs for anyone hurt or killed in an accident in the state. Proof of this liability insurance must be kept available in the vehicle at all times, including when registering a vehicle, renewing license plates, or anytime a police officer or the Department of Revenue asks you to show proof of insurance.
Maine Small Claims Limits: $6,000
Maine Personal Injury Statute of Limitations: 6 years
Maine Auto Accidents Involving Government Vehicles: In most cases, government entities receive protection from private lawsuits under a legal doctrine known as “government immunity” or “sovereign immunity.” However, this doctrine does not always guarantee protection for the government. In fact, it may just impose extra notice requirements on you as the plaintiff before filing your lawsuit. For more information on this type of government protection, follow this link to the FreeAdvice.com article on vehicle accident claims against government entities. Keep in mind that, depending on which government entity, there are frequently special requirements for how long you have to notify them of your claim. See below for some Maine specific details:ï¿½
Requirements for Filing Against Government Entities:
1) For filing against the Federal Government: Use Standard Form 95 and follow the instructions on the back page. The form must be completed and submitted to the appropriate agency within two years after the claim accrues.
2) For filing against the State of Maine: Consult a qualified Maine car accident attorney for a free case evaluation and for more information.
3) For filing against a Maine county or municipality: The requirements vary with the entity, so you’ll have to contact the specific county or agencies involved. See Maine Personal Injury Venue below for more information on where and how to file a claim.ï¿½ See this directory for a list of all public agencies in Maine.
In dealing with accidents involving government entities and workers, be aware that there are always special notices to be filed against the appropriate government unit responsible, whether in risk management, attorney general’s offices, or local agencies, and the time periods are limited in all cases (as little as 30-180 days). The rules can be confusing, so carefully check the forms linked above before you fill them out, and/or call the offices for the agency involved before filing your claim. Accident claims involving the government can be complicated. Any mistakes in filing or failing to file on time could result in losing your ability to recover for your damages and injuries. Consult an experienced attorney right away to preserve your rights. Also seeCar Accidents Involving Government-Owned Vehicles and Government Workers.
Maine Personal Injury Venue (Where to File Your Lawsuit): In the municipal or justice court located where the defendant (the person you are suing) lives or does business. Alternatively, you might consider filing in a court located where the accident occurred. If you are filing a claim against a government agency and are unsure of which agency is responsible, the most prudent course is to file a separate claim against each agency, or contact a Maine auto accident attorney.ï¿½